/CMSApp/TTV/media/LegacyTTVBlogImages/blog-post-default.jpg /CMSApp/TTV/media/LegacyTTVBlogImages/blog-post-default.jpg

Budget conferees named

Teach the Vote
Teach the Vote

Date Posted: 4/22/2013 | Author: Jennifer Mitchell, CAE

The state budget is heading into the final stretch of its long journey. Passed by both the House and Senate earlier this session, the state budget will now be hammered out by a conference committee made up of both House and Senate members. These committee members have been appointed to work out the differences between the two versions of the bill. Earlier today, the House named its conferees. Appropriation Committee Chairman Rep. Jim Pitts (R–Waxahachie) will also serve as the conference committee chairman. He will be joined by Rep. Sylvester Turner (D–Houston), Rep. John Otto (R–Dayton), Rep. Myra Crownover (R–Lake Dallas) and Rep. John Zerwas (R–Fulshear). The Senate conferees were named last week. They are:

  • Sen. Tommy Williams (R–The Woodlands)
  • Sen. Juan “Chuy” Hinojosa (D–McAllen)
  • Sen. Robert Duncan (R–Lubbock)
  • Sen. Jane Nelson (R–Flower Mound)
  • Sen. John Whitmire (D–Houston)


Thank you for submitting your comment.
Oops, an unexpected error occurred! Please refresh the page and try again.